Let the Countdown Begin

Monday 14th Sept –  1:20pm – Sydney, Australia

For the last several months I’ve known that this week was coming but I still feel incredibly disorganised and unprepared. That’s par for the course for me when it comes to any kind of travel, overseas or otherwise. It’s just the struggle of every person who loves to see the world but hates the logistics of travel. Airports are right up there with hospitals in places I hate to spend any large amount of time in, and considering I’m about to embark on a 30 hour journey to South America, I’m going to be seeing quite a lot of them.

Every time I’ve mentioned that I’m going to Colombia, some hilarious son-of-a -gun who has watched too many movies has quipped with such biting wit, “make sure you don’t get kidnapped”. Well firstly, that’s racial profiling so thanks for that, and secondly, getting kidnapped isn’t exactly on my agenda. I’m well aware that Colombia is a higher risk country and that there are real dangers of traveling there, but I also know how well looked after I will be. I also know that there are potential dangers of going anywhere and doing anything and you’ve got to live you life. You don’t need to ask me if I’m going to join a drug cartel, what would be a much more appropriate comment would be to say “travel safe and have a great time”. That would instill in me and my parents a lot less anxiety.

I can’t say that the thought of travelling to Colombia had crossed my mind before. It wasn’t on the top of my list of places to visit for the simple fact that, being obsessed with Europe, it didn’t really occur to me. I wouldn’t even be going over there if it weren’t for the fact that this is the fourth and final time my skating team Platinum Australia (and my second time as part of the team) will be representing the country at the World Artistic Roller Skating Championships. Thanks skating. Always stretching me and broadening my horizons you jerk.
Platinum Australia's last training session together in Australia.

Platinum Australia’s last training session together in Australia.

So it’s Monday  afternoon and I’m sitting in the hair dressers waiting for my hair colour to develop and thinking of all the things I have to do between now and leaving for the airport at 6am on Saturday morning. And what do you do when you have a lot of things you have to get organised to do? Obviously go and get your hair done.
I get overwhelmed very easily when preparing for and during travel and when I’m overwhelmed, my first reaction isn’t to start on the ever growing to-do list but instead to procrastinate and thus, cause the anxiety to heighten, and the vicious cycle continues.

After my hair is finished I need to go to the shops and get some extra bits and pieces for travel. It’s my goal in life to travel lightly but I never manage to achieve this. Every time trip I venture on, I promise myself that I’ll be more organised with my packing the next time and it just never happens. It doesn’t matter whether I’m traveling to the other side of the world or to the other side of the city, my packing game is so far from on point it’s not even funny. So I plan to buy a suitcase of appropriate size seeing as of the only two I own, one is tiny and the other one is massive.

Finally, about this blog. I wanted to keep it just in case anyone is interested in me and my friends shenanigans and also so my anxiety ridden mother can see what I’m up to. So firstly, I’d like to point out that Cali in this case is the name of a city in Colombia (where I’m going) and not the shorthand for the sunshine State of the US. And I’d like to mention that Cali is actually pronounced like Carly not Ally but for the sake of a catchy blog title, just roll with it okay? Secondly, I’m the single worst keeper of diaries in the world so don’t be alarmed if I stop writing this blog after two days. It’s much more likely I’ve just gotten lazy than it is I’ve been kidnapped or joined a drug cartel (seriously people, lay off the Hollywood movies for a bit yeah?).

So the countdown is on  five sleeps. Holy crap.
Ally x
Leave a Reply

